History of ALS

Arnold Lodge is a school with a rich history. We’re proud of our past, but we look to the future to ensure that we equip all of our pupils with the skills and confidence necessary to succeed.

Arnold Lodge School was founded in September 1864 by Alfred Kirk, a former Assistant Master at Leamington College.  He named the school in honour of Dr Thomas Arnold, the distinguished English educator, historian and Headmaster of Rugby School from 1828 - 1842.

Under Jonathan Hall's leadership numbers increased and the school became known for academic excellence and for high standards in music, art, drama and sport. A highlight was when in 1972 the Douglas and Eileen Hall Building was opened by the Secretary of State for Education and Science, the Rt. Hon Mrs Margaret Thatcher. In her speech she said "I know our inspectorate hold this school in very high regard and it is of a very high reputation".  In 1977 the boys' only policy was dropped and places were offered to girls. Jonathan Hall retired early for Health reasons in 1994.

Entrepreneur Wynford Dore and educationalist Gareth Newman acquired Arnold Lodge in 1999 and are proprietors of the school. As Directors, Mr Newman and Mr Dore play an active part in the life of the school; Mr Newman’s vast experience in education (Mr Newman was a Headteacher and worked as an advisor to the DfE) and Mr Dore’s experience as an entrepreneur ensures Arnold Lodge continues to be a pace-setter in the independent sector. Passionate about education, Mr Dore and Mr Newman’s generosity, vision and support are a central part of the Arnold Lodge’s success.

Originally the only prep school in Warwickshire, Arnold Lodge School extended its admission age to GCSE 2008, with a Sixth Form added in 2013. The school is housed across a mix of Victorian and modern buildings, and has more than 240 day pupils aged between 4 and 18.

Arnold Lodge School celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2014 and, while we’re proud of our heritage and traditions, we look to the future and aren’t afraid to be different, to innovate and to change in order to secure the best education for all of our pupils.

Notable Alumni include:

  • John Cridlan Barrett; recipient of the Victoria Cross ‘for most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty’ in September 1918
  • Sir Tim Barrow; CMG LVO MBE; U.K Ambassador to the EU
  • Craig Castilla; Senior Vice-President at Rothschild Inc. in New York
  • Denis Matthews; English pianist and musicologist
  • Ramsey Wherrett; author, oil painter, designer, illustrator
  • Simon Cheshire; English children’s writer
  • Christian Horner; Principal of the Red Bull Formula One Racing Team and former racing driver
  • Alex Grove; Scottish international Rugby Union player